There is a grate variation of Monkeys  among other Primates, and zoologists classify them in the same suborder and order as humans as well the great apes. Also many kinds of monkeys about 264 species of monkeys and are divided into two large categories: Old World Monkeys and New World Monkeys. Old World monkeys live in Africa and Asia, and New World Monkeys live in Central and South America.

Monkeys vary in appearance that is monkey’s fur is seldom all one color, but usually has markings in two or more colors. Fur colors include black, white, gray, red, brown, gold and olive green. A monkey’s face may be covered or be surrounded by a ruff of long fur or with short fur atimes naked, with black, gray, brown or pink skin. or there may be a beard. Often hands, feet, top of head, and tip of tail contrast in color with the rest of the body.

Monkeys Primate Safaris

A monkey is a long-tailed, medium-sized member of the order of Primates including macaques, baboons, guenons, capuchins, marmosets, and tamarins. Monkeys today are a member of two of the three groups of simian primates, the New World monkeys and the Old World monkeys, of which there are 264 known species. Apes and chimpanzees are not scientifically classified as monkeys, a common misconception due to their physical similarities.

The Family Monkeys shows a great deal of variety species, ranging in size from the 5-6 inch Pygmy Marmoset, to the adult male Mandrill, which can be 3 feet tall. Some monkeys spend most of their time and lives in treetops, while others call savannas and grasslands home. Most monkeys survive on a diet of fruit, leaves, nuts, berries, eggs, insects and they occasionally hunt other smaller animals.

Old World Monkeys: These are in the family Cercopithecinae. Old world monkeys themselves are divided into two subfamilies: the Cercopithecinae (cheek-pouched monkeys) and the Colobinae (leaf-eating monkeys). They are larger than the New World monkeys. They are diurnal, and physically different as well.

Old world monkeys have:

  1. Narrow and downward pointing nostrils.
  2. Longer hind legs than forearms.
  3. Flattened nails on fingers and toes.
  4. Prominent buttock pads that they can sit on.
  5. Tails, but not prehensile (adapted for grasping or holding) ones.
  6. They are generally larger than the New World monkeys.

New World Monkeys: These monkeys live in the neotropical forests of the “new world”.They are divided into two groups: The Callitrichidae, which include the smaller tamarins and marmosets, and the Cebide Monkeys, which include a wider variety of monkeys including the capuchin, owl, titi, saki, spider, wooly, and many others.

New World Monkeys range vastly in size – some are quite tiny, like the 6 inch pygmy marmoset, and some are larger – the howler monkey can be up to 3 feet in length. New World Monkeys are called platyrrhines.

New world monkeys have:s:

  1. Wide nostrils which are circular and spaced apart.
  2. They are small to medium sized.
  3. Long tails which are sometimes prehensile.
  4. No buttock pads.
  5. No cheek pouches.

Some distinguishing features between New World and Old World monkeys include the tail. Most New World monkeys have prehensile tails while Old World monkeys do not.

Open chat
Need help?
Hello, Can we help? Chat with Us